Muaythai Disciplines

The foundations of muaythai is built on five important pillars; Tradition, Respect, Honour, Excellence & Fairplay. The different disciplines in muaythai are practiced for various reasons. It can be for fitness, self-defence, competition or as a cultural art form. Muaythai is in essence a way of life


Muay, also known as muaythai, Thai Boxing of Thai Kick-Boxing is the competition sport which is either competed at the professional level over 5 rounds of 3 minutes each, or by amateur rules over 3 rounds of 3 minutes each. It is known as the sport of eight limbs where practitioners utilise their fists, elbows, shins and knees. Amateur practitioners wear a head guard, elbow guards, shin guards and gloves whilst the professional use only the gloves. Under IFMA’s auspices its professional wing the World Muaythai Council or WMC regulates and governs all professional rules and competitions internationally.This discipline of muaythai is included into the official programme of many multi-sport games such as the World Games, the FISU World University Championship programme, Asian Beach Games, Asian Indoor & Martial Art Games, World Combat Games, SEA Games, TAFISA Games and many others.

Muay Boran

Muay Boran is the umbrella term for “Hand-to-Hand Combat” or self-defense in muaythai. In Thailand It is composed of five disciplines – Muay Chaiya, Muay Korat, Muay Lopburi, Muay Tahsouh and Muay Pala Sueksa (or Muay Panakorn). They can be identified by their different stances and techniques. Muay boran bouts were traditionally fought with rope bindings on the hands (Kad Chuek). Today, competitions are held as either demonstrations with very little contact or full contact.

Krabi Krabong

Krabi Krabong is the weapon based discipline of muaythai. The system includes the main weapons; the curved sword (Krabi) and staff (Krabong).

Europäische Muaythai Liga
Detlef Türnau
Alte Bergheimer Straße 11
41515 Grevenbroich
Tel. 02181-63238

Copyright ©  2020 E.M.L.